Diabetes Research Center

UCSD/UCLA/Cedars-Sinai/Salk/LA BioMed Supported by NIDDK
Return to About

Membership

Last Name First Name Department Position Phone Number Organization Specialization
Adams John Orthopaedics Professor jsadams@mednet.ucla.edu 310-267-5585 UCLA Bone biology
Ader Marilyn Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute Professor Marilyn.Ader@cshs.org 310-967-2792 Cedars-Sinai Diabetes and obesity
Adler Sharon Nephrol Professor & Division Chief sadler@labiomed.org 310-222-3891 Harbor/UCLA Pathophysiology, pharmacotherapy, and genetics of diabetic nephropathy
Allison Matthew Family Preventative Med Professor mallison@ucsd.edu 858-822-7671 UCSD Incidence and progression of peripheral venous disease
Aronson William Urology Clin Professor mailto:waronson@ucla.edu 310-268-3446 UCLA Translational research in weight loss, diet and prostate cancer
Ayres Janelle Microbial Pathogenesis Assistant Professor jayres@salk.edu   Salk Immunology and microbial pathogenesis
Bairey-Merz Noel Cardiology Professor noel.baireymerz@cshs.org 310-423-9680 Cedars-Sinai Detection and assessment of heart artery disorders in women using noninvasive methods
Barrett-Connor Elizabeth Fam/Prev Med Professor ebarrettconnor@ucsd.edu 858-534-0511 UCSD Epidemiology
Bartsch Dirk-Uwe Ophthalmology Professor bartsch@eyecenter.ucsd.edu 858-534-4392 UCSD Diabetic retinopathy
Beaven Simon     sbeaven@mednet.ucla.edu   UCLA Hepatic metabolism and diabetes complications/NASH
Bensinger Steven Immunology Assoc Professor sbensinger@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-9885 UCLA Immunometabolism and lipid biology
Bergman Richard Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute Professor and Director Richard.Bergman@cshs.org 310-967-2796 Cedars-Sinai Diabetes and obesity
Bernstein Kenneth Biomedical Sciences and Pathology Professor Kenneth.Bernstein@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai Blood pressure
Bhushan Anil Endo Asst Professor abhushan@medne.ucla.edu 310 206-5750 UCLA Beta cells
Blantz Roland Med Professor rblantz@ucsd.edu 858-552-8585 x7528 UCSD Nephropathy, proteinuria
Bottini Nunzio LAIA Assoc Professor nbottini@ucsd.edu   LAIA/UCSD Signal transduction, protein phosphory-lation, tyrosine phosphatases, insulin resistance, Type 1 diabetes
Brenner David Medicine Vice Chancellor dbrenner@ucsd.edu 858-534-1505 UCSD Liver fibrosis, non-alcoholic liver disease, hepatic stellate cell biology, NADPH oxidase
Brent Gregory VA Professor gbrent@ucla.edu 310-268-3735 VA Thyroid biology
Brown Joan Pharmacol Professor jhbrown@ucsd.edu 858-534-2595 UCSD GPCR signaling
Budoff Matthew Cardiol Professor mbudoff@labiomed.org 310-222-4107 Harbor/UCLA Atherosclerotic complications of diabetes
Butler Alexandra Endo Asst Professor aebutler@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-7845 UCLA Islet pathology
Calcutt Nigel A. Pathology Professor ncalcutt@ucsd.edu 858-534-5331 UCSD Neuropathy
Chang Jeffrey Repro Med Professor rjchang@ucsd.edu 858-534-8930 UCSD PCOS, reproduction
Chugh Sumeet Cardiology Professor sumeet.chugh@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai Sudden death
Clegg Deborah Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute Professor deborah.clegg@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai Sex hormones and metabolism
Chao Lily Path and Laboratory Med Clin Instructor lchao@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-4622 UCLA Nur77 and muscle metabolism and development
Chaudhuri Gautman Obgyn Professor gchaudhuri@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-6575 UCLA Metabolic Syndrome
Chen Yii-Der Ida Ob/Gyn Professor cheny@cshs.org 310-423-8828 Cedars-Sinai Pathophysiology of type 2 diabetes and its complications
Chi Nai Wen Med Assoc Professor nwchi@ucsd.edu 858-534-6274 UCSD Angiotensin-4 in 3T3-L1 adipocytes
Criqui Michael Fam/Prev Med Professor mcriqui@ucsd.edu 858-534-3722 UCSD CV epidemiology and diabetes
Cunard Robyn Med-Neph Assist Professor rcunard@ucsd.edu 858-552-8585 Ex. 7671 UCSD TRB3 in Diabetic Nephropathy
Dennis Edward Biochemistry and Chemistry Professor edennis@ucsd.edu 858-534-3055 UCSD Lipids
Desai Mina OB/Gyn Asst Professor mdesai@obgyn.humc.edu 310-222-1961 Harbor/UCLA Impact of maternal nutritional status on fetal outcome
Devaskar Sherin Peds-Neo Professor sdevaskar@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-9436 UCLA Glucose transporters
Dillmann Wolfgang Med Professor wdillmann@ucsd.edu 858-534-9934 UCSD Thyroid hormone
Dixon Jack Pharmacology Professor jedixon@ucsd.edu 858-822-0491 UCSD Novel kinases and phosphatases
Edwards Peter Biol Chem Professor pedwards@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-3717 UCLA Nuclear receptors
Elashoff Robert Biomath Professor elashof@biomath.ucla.edu 310-825-9421 UCLA Statistical modeling
Evans Ronald Mol & Devlp Biol Professor evans@salk.edu 858-453-4100 ext 1302 Salk Nuclear Receptors and Metabolic Networds
Field Seth Med-Endo Associate Professor sjfield@ucsd.edu 858-822-1731 UCSD Insulin signaling
Frazer Kelly Pediatrics Professor kafrazer@ucsd.edu 858-246-0208 UCSD  
Fu Wenxian Peds-Endo Assistant Professor w3fu@ucsd.edu 858 246-0022 UCSD Type 1 Diabetes, autoimmunity
Georgia Senta Med-Endo Assistant Professor sgeorgia@ucla.edu 310-794-3317 UCLA Islet Biology
Glass Chris Cell/Molec Professor ckg@ucsd.edu 858-534-6011 UCSD Macrophage, Inflammation
Goldstein Larry Cell/Molec Professor lgoldstein@ucsd.edu 858-534-9702 UCSD Alzheimers
Goodarzi Mark Endocrinol Asst Professor mark.goodarzi@cshs.org 310-423-3074 Cedars-Sinai Genetic epidemiology of insulin resistance, diabetes and polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Gottlieb Roberta Cardiology Professor roberta.gottlieb@cshs.org 424-315-2867 Cedars-Sinai Mitochondria
Guan Kun-Liang Pharmacology Professor kuguan@ucsd.edu 858-822-7945 UCSD The TSC-mTOR pathway and the hippo-YAP pathway
Guo Ming     mingfly@ucla.edu 310-206-9406 UCLA  
Guo Xiuqing Medical Genetics Assoc Professor xguo@labiomed.org 310-974-9516 Harbor/UCLA Statistical genetic methods applied to diabetes and its complications
Hedrick Lynn     hedrick@lji.org   LIAI/UCSD Type 2 diabetes
Henry Robert Med Professor rrhenry@ucsd.edu 858-552-8585 x3648 UCSD diabetes treatment, Insulin resistance
Hevener Andrea ENDO Associate Professor AHevener@mednet.ucla.edu 310-267-5884 UCLA Euglycemic clamps
Hnasko Thomas Neurosci Asst Professor thnasko@ucsd.edu 858-822-0672 UCSD Feeding behavior
Insel Paul Pharmacol Professor pinsel@ucsd.edu 858-534-2295 UCSD GPCR signaling, Cardiomyopathy
Ipp Eli Endocrinol Professor ipp@labiomed.org 310-222-2503 Harbor/UCLA Genetics of type 2 diabetes and diabetic retinopathy; physiology of hormone secretion in islets of Langerhans
Itkin-Ansari Pamela Pediatrics Assist Professor pitkin@sanfordburnham.org 858-222-2039 Burnham Beta Cell Differentiation
Jain Mohit Pharmacology Assist Professor mjain@ucsd.edu 858-822-5854 UCSD  
Jhala Ulupi Peds Research Scientist ujhala@ucsd.edu 858-622-9050 Whittier MLK3 in Pancreatic Beta Cell Death
Karin Michael Pharmacol Professor karin@ucsd.edu 858-534-0872 UCSD Inflammation
NFkappaB
Kauffman Alexander S. Repro Neuroendocrinology Assoc Professor akauffman@ucsd.edu 858-246-0219 UCSD Neuroendocrinology of Reproduction
Kaufman Randy Medicine Professor rkaufman@SBPdiscovery.org 858-795-5149 Burnham Degenerative Diseases
Knight Robin (Rob) Pediatrics Professor rknight@ucsd.edu 858-822-2379 UCSD Microbiome
Kim Jane Pediatrics Asst Professor janekim@ucsd.edu 858-534-8228 UCSD Obesity and insulin resistance
King Charles C. Pediatrics, PDRC Assoc Res Sci chking@ucsd.edu 858-822-4894 UCSD Differentiation of human embryonic stem cells to endocrine lineage
LaSpada Albert Pediatrics Professor alaspada@ucsd.edu 858-246-0148 UCSD Stem cells
Lawson Mark Repro/Med Professor mlawson@ucsd.edu 858-822-4128 UCSD Insulin and of GNRH Signaling
Ley Klaus     klaus@lji.org   LIAI/UCSD Vascular complications
Liesa Marc     mliesa@mednet.ucla.edu 310-794-7555 UCLA Mitochondrial function
Lee Kuk-Wha Peds Asst Professor kukwhalee@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-6496 UCLA IGFBPs
Lin Shou Physiology Professor shuolin@ucla.edu 310-267-4970 UCLA Endo development
Liu Ning-Ai Endocrinol Asst Professor Ning-ai.liu@cshs.org 310-423-7657 Cedars-Sinai Role of STAT 3 in POMC lineage development
Liu Simin Epidemiology Professor siminliu@ucla.edu 310-206-5862 UCLA Epidemiology, Gender biology and disease susceptibility, Genetics and pathobiology of Type 2 diabetes and diabetes complications
Ljubimov Alexander Ophthalmol Professor ljubimov@cshs.org 310-423-7645 Cedars-Sinai Mechanisms of diabetic retinopathy development
Loomba Rohit Medicine Associate Professor roloomba@ucsd.edu 619-471-9459 UCSD Gastroenterology and epidemiology
Lu Shelly Gastroenterology Professor shelly.lu@cshs.org 310-423-5440 Cedars-Sinai non-alcoholic fatty liver disease
Lusis Aldons Cardiology Professor jlusis@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-1359 UCLA Atherosclerosis
Mak Robert Pediatrics Professor romak@ucsd.edu 858 822-6717 UCSD Insulin resistance and the kidney
Mayer Emeran     emayer@ucla.edu 310-825-1597 UCLA  
Mangione Carole GIM Professor cmangione@mednet.ucla.edu 310-794-2298 UCLA Diabetes of Elderly
Matveyenko Aleksey Endo Asst Professor amatveyenko@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-7236 UCLA Circadian Rhythms
Mellon Pamela Repro Med
Neurosci
Professor
Vice-Chair
pmellon@ucsd.edu 858-534-1312 UCSD GnRH neurons
Pituitary gonadotropins
Melmed Shlomo Endocrinol Professor/Assoc Dean melmeds@cshs.org 310-423-4691 Cedars-Sinai Pituitary tumor molecular pathogenesis and treatment
Metallo Christian Bioengineering Asst Professor cmetallo@eng.ucsd.edu 858-534-8209 UCSD Adipocyte Metabolism
Montminy Marc Biology Professor montminy@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Salk Transcriptional Biology and Nuclear Receptor Signaling
Mudaliar Sunder Med-Endo Assoc Professor smudaliar@vapop.ucsd.edu 858-552-8585
x 3152
UCSD Diabetes treatment
Nelson Stanley Human Genetics Professor snelson@ucla.edu 310-794-7981 UCLA Development of Microarray Technology
Newton Alexandra Pharmacol Professor anewton@ucsd.edu 858-534-4527 UCSD Kinase C
Olefsky Jerrold Med Professor
Assoc Dean
jolefsky@ucsd.edu 858-534-6551 UCSD Insulin resistance
Panda Satchin Regulatory Biology Lab Assoc Professor satchin@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Ext. 1912 Salk Interaction between circadian rhythms and metabolic cycles in mammals
Pandol Stephen Gastroenterology Professor stephen.pandol@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai pancreas, beta cells
Pardridge William Endo Professor wpradridge@mednet.ucla.edu 310-852-8858 UCLA Blood brain barrier
Peterfy Miklos Medical Genetics Associate Professor  Miklos.Peterfy@cshs.org 310-423-0314  Cedars-Sinai Use of murine models to study the genetics of obesity, type 2 diabetes and hyperlipidemia
Pettus Jeremy Medicine Assistant Professor jpettus@ucsd.edu 858-552-8585 ext. 7631 UCSD Basic immunology with a focus on biomarkers for type 1 diabetes disease activity
Phelps Michael Pharmacol Professor mphelps@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-6539 UCLA Imaging
Polgreen Lynda Pediatrics Assistant Professor lpolgreen@labiomed.org 310-222-1961 Harbor UCLA Musculoskeletal disease in MPS
Quehenberger Oswald Med-Endo Professor oquehenberger@ucsd.edu 858-534-4401 UCSD Atherosclerosis
Lipidomics
Raffel Leslie Medical Genetics Professor leslie.raffel@cshs.org 310-423-6451 Cedars-Sinai Genetic predisposition to insulin resistance related disorders
Ren Bing Cell/Molec Professor biren@ucsd.edu 858-822-5766 UCSD Genomics
Reue Karen VA Professor reuek@ucla.edu 310-794-5631 VA lipids
Rosenfeld Michael Med Professor mrosenfeld@ucsd.edu 858-534-5858 UCSD Regulation of gene expression
Rotter Jerome Medical Genetics Professor jrotter@labiomed.org 310-974-9501 Harbor/UCLA Genetic susceptibility to complex cardiovascular/ metabolic and gastrointestinal/ autoimmune diseases
Saghatelian Alan Peptide Biology Professor asaghatelian@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Salk Peptide biology
Salehi Marzieh Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute Associate Professor Marzieh.Salehi@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai Metabolic effects of bariatric surgery
Salteil Allan Medicine Endo Professor asaltiel@ucsd.edu 858-534-5953 UCSD Diabetes
Salusky Isidro Ped-Neph Professor isalusky@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-6987 UCLA Osteoporosis
Sander Maike Peds Professor masander@ucsd.edu 858-246-0842 UCSD Islet Cell Development
Sareen Dhruv Molecular Pathogenesis Professor dhruv.sareen@cshs.org 310-248-8556 Cedars-Sinai Molecular pathogenesis underlying neuro-developmental and -degenerative diseases
Sasik Roman   Asst Proj Sci rsasik@ucsd.edu 858-822-4231 UCSD Bioinformatics
Schubert David Cellular Neurobiology Professor Schubert@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Ext. 1528 Salk Diabetes; Protein glycation; Alzheimer’s
Schenk Simon Med/Ortho-Endo/Metab Assoc Professor sschenk@ucsd.edu 858-822-0857 UCSD Diabetes; Insulin Resistance
Schnabl Bernd Pharmacology Professor beschnabl@ucsd.edu 858-822-5311 UCSD The cellular and molecular mechanisms involved in the progression of chronic liver diseases
Sears Dorothy Med-Endo Assoc Professor dsears@ucsd.edu 858-822-6644 UCSD Diabetes, bioinformatics, Osteopontin & IR
Seki Ekihiro Gastroenterology Research Scientist Ekihiro.Seki@cshs.org (310) 423-6605 Cedars-Sinai Liver fibrosis, Non-alcoholic liver disease, hepatic stellate cell biology, NADPH oxidase
Shao Jianhua

Med-Endo

PDRC

Assoc Professor jishao@ucsd.edu 858-822-1969 UCSD Inflammation and Diabetes
Sharma Kumar Medicine Nephrology Professor kusharma@ucsd.edu 858-822-0870 UCSD Obesity and diabetic kidney disease
Shaw Reuben MCBL Assistant Professor shaw@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Ext. 1258 Salk AMPK signaling, metformin, hepatic metabolism
Shirihai Orian Medicine Professor OShirihai@mednet.ucla.edu 617-230-8570 UCLA Beta cells
Spencer Melissa Neurology Professor mspencer@mednet.ucla.edu 310-794-5225 UCLA Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy
Stanford Stephanie Cellluar Biology Instructor stephanie@lji.org 760-508-9817 La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology Type I Diabetes, autoimmunity
Swerdloff Ronald Endocrinol Professor & Div Chief swerdloff@labiomed.org 310-222-1867 Harbor/UCLA Male reproductive physiology; effects of reduced androgens in elderly men
Szczepaniak Lidia Cardiology Research Scientist Lidia.Szczepaniak@cshs.org 310-248-7692 Cedars-Sinai Ethnic differences in mechanisms of pancreatic beta cell failure
Tang Jie Genomics Professor jie.tang@cshs.org   Cedars-Sinai  
Tangirala Rajendra Endo Asst Professor rtangirala@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-4546 UCLA Mouse Phenotyping
Tarling Elizabeth Medicine Asst Professor ETarling@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-9837 UCLA Lipid metabolism
Taylor Susan Chem & Biochem Professor staylor@ucsd.edu 858-534-3677 UCSD Protein Kinase A
Taylor Kent Medical Genetics Assoc Professor ktaylor@labiomed.org 310-974-9323 Harbor/UCLA Gene identification in complex genetic traits
Thackray Varykina Repro Med Assoc Professor vthackray@ucsd.edu 858-534-1895 UCSD FOX01 in Gonadotrophs
Tontonoz Peter Pathology Professor ptontonoz@mednet.ucla.edu 310-794-7121 UCLA Nuclear Receptors
Vallim Thomas Medicine Assist Professor tvallim@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-9837 UCLA Bile acids and hepatic metabolism
Verma Inder Biology Professor verma@salk.edu 858-453-4100 Salk Viral Vectors, Inflammation and Stem Cells
Victor Ronald Cardiology Professor Ronald.Victor@cshs.org 310-248-7641 Cedars-Sinai Mechanisms and risk factors for hypertension
Villarreal Francisco Medicine Adj. Professor fvillarr@ucsd.edu 858-534-3630 UCSD Cardiac mechanics
von Herrath Matthias LIAI Professor matthias@alai.org   LIAI/UCSD Immuno therapies, regulatory T cells, viruses, human pathology and combination therapies/animal models for T1D
Walker David     davidwalker@ucla.edu 310-825-7179 UCLA Metabolism and aging
Wanagat Jonathan     jwanagat@mednet.ucla.edu 310-206-8272 UCLA Muscle metabolism/mitochondrial function and sarcopenia
Wang Christina Endocrinol Professor & Dir GCRC wang@labiomed.org 310-222-2503 Harbor/ UCLA Male reproductive endocrinology
Webster Nicholas Med Professor nwebster@ucsd.edu 858-534-5239 UCSD Regulation of gene expression
Whitelegge Julian Mass Spec Lab/NPI-Semel Inst Professor jpw@chem.ucla.edu 310-794-5156 UCLA Biological mass spectrometry of proteins, Peptides and lipids
Wilkinson Miles Reproductive Medicine Professor mfwilkinson@ucsd.edu 858-822-4819 UCSD Gonadal Development
Witztum Joseph Med-Endo Professor jwitztum@ucsd.edu 858-534-4402 UCSD Immunology of atherosclerosis
Yee Jennifer Peds Endocrinol Asst Professor jyee@labiomed.org 310-222-1971 Harbor/UCLA Contribution of fatty acid production in fat cells to obesity
Young Steve G. Human Genetics Professor sgyoung@mednet.ucla.edu 310-825-4934 UCLA Plasma lipid metabolism and diseases of the nuclear envelope
Yu Run Endocrinol Asst Professor Run.yu@cshs.org 310-423-4774 Cedars-Sinai The mechanism for securin regulation of beta cell mass