Diabetes Research Center

UCSD/UCLA/Cedars-Sinai/Salk Supported by NIDDK

DRC Leadership

Directors

 

Alan Saltiel, PhD

 

Alan Saltiel, PhD
DRC Director

Director, Institute for Diabetes
and Metabolic Health

Professor of Medicine
UC San Diego
Phone 858-534-5953
asaltiel@ucsd.edu

Jerrold Olefsky, MD

 

Jerrold Olefsky, MD
DRC Co-Director

Associate Dean for Scientific Affairs
and Distinguished Professor of Medicine
UC San Diego
Phone 858-534-6551
jolefsky@ucsd.edu

   


Peter Tontonoz, MD, PhD

DRC Co-Director

Professor of Pathology and
Laboratory Medicine
UC Los Angeles
Phone 310-794-7121

ptontonoz@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Jerome I. Rotter, MD
DRC Co-Director
Director, Institute for Translational Genomics
and Population Sciences, LABiomed
Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics,
Medicine, and Human Genetics, UCLA
LA BioMedHarbor-UCLA
Phone 310-974-9501

jrotter@labiomed.org

   

Core Directors

 

Pamela L. Mellon, PhD

 

Pamela L. Mellon, PhD
Core Director, Core A

The Transgenic and Knock-Out Mouse Core
Distinguished Professor, Vice Chair for Research
Department of Reproductive Medicine
UC San Diego
Phone 858-534-1312
pmellon@ucsd.edu

Andrea L. Hevener

 

Andrea L. Hevener, PhD
Core Director, Core B

Metabolic & Molecular Physiology Core
Professor of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Hypertension
UC Los Angeles
Phone 310-267-5884
ahevener@mednet.ucla.edu

   

Christopher K. Glass

 

Christopher Glass, MD, PhD
Core Director, Core C
Genomics & Epigenetics Core
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
and Cellular and Molecular Medicine
UC San Diego
Phone 858-534-6011
cglass@ucsd.edu

Jerome I. Ritter, MD

 

Jerome I. Rotter, MD
Core Director
Core D

Human Genetics Core
Director, Institute for Translational Genomics
and Population Sciences
LABioMed
Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine and Human Genetics
UCLA
Phone 310-974-9501
jrotter@labiomed.org


   


 

Mark Goodarzi, MD, PhD
Core Co-Director
Core D

Human Genetics Core
and Program Director
Enrichment Program

Professor of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Phone 310-423-3074
Mark.Goodarzi@cshs.org

Julian Whitelegge, PhD

 

Julian Whitelegge, PhD
Core Director
Core E

Targeted Pathway Analysis Core
Professor of Psychiatry
UC Los Angeles
Phone 310-794-5156
jpw@chem.ucla.edu

   

 

Peter Tontonoz, MD, PhD
Co-Director
Core E

Targeted Pathway Analysis Core
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
UC Los Angeles
Phone 310-794-7121
ptontonoz@mednet.ucla.edu


Osvald Quehenberger, PhD

 

Osvald Quehenberger, PhD, FAHA
Sub-Core Director, Core E
Lipidomics Sub-Core
Professor, Department of Medicine
UC San Diego

Phone 858-534-8902
oquehenberger@ucsd.edu